top of page

episkepto... why?

There's power in a name.

Jesus calls out demons by name. Scripture commands us not to take the Lord's name in vain. We are assured that whatever we pray for in Jesus' name will be granted to us.

So if names have power and meaning, then what is the significance of "episkeptomai"? What power exists within the name of this community?

I'm so glad you asked.

When the Son of Man comes in his glory, and all the angels with him, he will sit on his glorious throne. All the nations will be gathered before him, and he will separate the people one from another as a shepherd separates the sheep from the goats. He will put the sheep on his right and the goats on his left.

Then the King will say to those on his right, ‘Come, you who are blessed by my Father; take your inheritance, the kingdom prepared for you since the creation of the world. For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.’

Then the righteous will answer him, ‘Lord, when did we see you hungry and feed you, or thirsty and give you something to drink? When did we see you a stranger and invite you in, or needing clothes and clothe you? When did we see you sick or in prison and go to visit you?’

The King will reply, ‘Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me.’

- Matthew 25:31-40

In the parable of the sheep and goats - Matthew 25 - Jesus talks about how we are to take care of one another. It's a nice passage. We are called to feed the hungry, provide water to the thirsty, clothe the naked.. Feeding people, giving them water, clothing them - these are all different ways to take care of others most basic and vital needs. But when it comes to sick and imprisoned, we're called to visit them. Something feels off about this line. Visiting someone is very different than taking care of their most important needs. You can visit a sick friend, even bring them a cup of chicken noodle soup.. But that definitely doesn't mean you are feeding them, clothing them, and tending to their thirst. One of these things is not like the other.

But when we look closer, we see something truly beautiful.

The word Jesus uses here in the original Greek - the word that gets translated to "visit" - is episkeptomai. In English it means to spend time with someone or hang out with them, but it originally meant so much more.

ἐπισκέπτομαι

episkeptomai

ep-ee-skep'-tom-ahee

to look upon or after, to inspect, examine with the eyes

  1. in order to see how he is, i.e. to visit, go to see one

  2. the poor and afflicted, the sick

  3. to look upon in order to help or to benefit

  4. to look after, have care for, provide for: of God

  5. to look (about) for, look out (one to choose, employ, etc.)

(NAS New Testament Greek Lexicon)

Episkeptomai - in its true form - means to visit, look after, inspect, concern yourself with, closely examine, and educate yourself regarding someone's condition in order to understand, help, benefit, care for, and provide for them. This is how we are to interact with those in need. We are called to closely examine their situation, learn everything we possibly can about them, and then help them in a way that we only can when we truly episkeptomai them.

So who are those in need?

All of us.

We're all flawed. We're all sick. We all need each other. Jesus calls for us to episkeptomai - to understand, be concerned about, and truly know each other - because we all are in need.

So, do you truly know those around you? Are you concerned about them? Have you taken the time to closely examine their situation so you can fully understand what they're going through, and how you can help?

On the other hand, do you allow yourself to be truly known? Do you discuss the intimate, hairy details of your life so others can understand and help?

I recently visited some of my close family for a holiday. We had a nice time, playing games and laughing with one another. As the night wound down the women retreated, as is common at our family events, to the bathroom. I know it sounds weird, but bear with me. We sat on the bathroom floor and talked about our lives, our childhoods, and what makes us the way we are. This is fairly commonplace in my family, and I think it's one of our biggest strengths. We episkeptomai each other. I left that night invigorated and energized - despite the fact that I was beginning a 4 hour drive home at 11:30 pm. There's something just so good about truly living out episkeptomai.

Vulnerability is hard. Sitting with others in their vulnerable moments is hard. Trust me, I know. But if we don't fully episkeptomai each other, then there's no way we can accurately and adequately take care of one another.

I want this to be a place where we can live out episkeptomai together. I want this to be a place where we feel safe to know each other, and be fully known.

Episkeptomai is a call to action and a reminder -- because Jesus episkeptomai's each and every one of us.

That's all for now.

I'll see you soon.

p.s. - If you dig this and want more thoughts on vulnerability, I highly suggest The Power of Vulnerability by Brene Brown. If you watch it, drop a comment below. I'd love to know what you think.

bottom of page